Himalaya Range in Pakistan

by on December 6, 2010
in Travel Pakistan

The Great Himalayas of Pakistan

This mountain range separates the Indian subcontinent and the Tibetan Plateau. The countries which share this massive range of mountains include – Pakistan, India, Nepal, Afghanistan, China and Burma. Generally, it is also known as a name of a huge mountain system including the Karakoram Range, Hindu Kush and few other lesser ranges.

Some of the world’s major rivers like Ganges and Brahmaputra flow from this range. The western rivers combine together to form River Indus which flows southwest through India to Pakistan and then into the Arabian Sea. The climate, rainfall, soil conditions, and altitude of this range are quite diversified, generating a vast variety of plants and animal communities.

The world’s second longest glacier called ‘Siachen’ which lies at the India-Pakistan border is part of this great mountain range. There are several lakes in the Himalaya range of Pakistan. It also has a profound effect on the climate of the country.

There are many notable peaks of Himalayas in Pakistan but Nanga Parbat is the most important one being the 9th highest in the world and 2nd highest in the country.

Fact sheet of Himalaya Range in Pakistan
No. Names of Imp. Peaks of Himalayas Height of Himalayas (m) Location of Himalaya Peaks
1 Nanga Parbat 8,126 Gilgit-Baltistan
2 Silberzachen 7,597 Nanga Parbat
3 Rakhiot Peak 7,070 Nanga Parbat group
4 Chongra Peak 6,830 Nanga Parbat
5 Ganalo Peak 6,606 Nanga Parbat
6 Laila Peak 5,971 Rupal Valley
7 Shaigiri 5,688 Rupal Valley
8 Buldar Peak 5,602 Nanga Parbat
9 Malika Parbat 5,290 Kaghan Valley
10 Jalipur Peak South 5,215 Nanga Parbat
11 Ditchil 5,084 Deosai
12 Chattewala 4,917
13 Jabardar 4,511 Fairy Meadows, Jalipur
14 Dinewar 4,100
15 Tingrel 4,085
16 Chhugam 4,064 Nanga Parbat
17 Makra Peak 3,586 Kaghan Valley
Author MairaS:
Webpreneur. CEO ContentCreatorZ Pakistan. Managing Partner Media Marketing Services.

Share Your Thoughts