Chief Ministers of Provinces of Pakistan (2008-2013)

by on October 5, 2012
in Provinces

Chief minister of Pakistan

Chief Ministers perform the important duty of looking after the provinces. Their other duties include maintaining peace and harmony among the different communities living in the province and safeguarding the rights of the province. Currently there are five chief ministers in Pakistan; their brief introduction is as follows:

Syed Qaim Ali Shah: This seasoned politician is the chief minister of Sindh province of Pakistan. Born in 1935 in an influential family in Khairpur Sindh, Syed Qaim Ali Shah did his LLB from Karachi and started practicing law. He joined the Pakistan People’s Party in 1967 and is one of its earliest members. Qaim Ali Shah took oath as the 23rd chief minister of Sindh on 7th April 2008. This is his second term as a chief minister, previously he held this position during  Benazir Bhutto’s government.

Shahbaz Sharif: The chief minister of Punjab Shahbaz Sharif  belongs to PML-N group. He was born in 1950 in Lahore. He was sworn in as the Chief Minister in 2008 but  he was ousted from his office as he was declared ineligible to contest elections by the Supreme Court of Pakistan. However he obtained a stay order and returned to his office which he holds to date. This is Shahbaz Sharif’s second term as a Chief Minister; earlier he held this post from 1997-1999 when his brother Nawaz Sharif was the prime minister. He is an astute politician who has worked for the betterment of Punjab.

Ameer Haider Khan Hoti: Ameer Haider Khan the son of a former Federal Minister Azam Khan Hoti is the 21st chief minister of Khyber Pakhtun Khawa province of Pakistan. He belongs to an illustrious family of politicians and is a member of the Awami National Party (ANP).

Nawab Aslam Raisani: The tribal head of Raisani Tribe and a member of PPP, Nawab Aslam Raisani is the 13th chief minister of Balochistan. Being a veteran politician with a deep understanding of the tribal culture and traditions; Raisani has introduced modern methods of farming in Balochistan.

Syed Mehdi Shah: Syed Mehdi Shah a member of the ruling PPP is the first chief minister of Gilgit Baltistan. He was appointed by the former Prime Minister of Pakistan Syed Yusuf Raza Gillani.

Pakistan through the decades: List of Chief Justice of Pakistan

iftikhar chaudhry

A justice system is as important for the society as the creation of society itself. It implies ensuring that each and every member of the society is getting his rights without any external pressure or threats. For the creation of a just society, it is essential that a justice system is developed on equality basis for the countrymen. The justice system of Pakistan is headed by the Supreme Court the office of which is controlled by the Chief Justice. Pakistan has had twenty-two Chief Justices who have taken charge of the office during their tenure. The first Chief Justice of Pakistan was Justice Abdur Rashid who remained in the office from 1949 till 1954. The current Chief Justice is Iftikhar M. Chaudhry who took charge of office in the year 2009. Given below is the list of Chief Justices of Pakistan who are twenty-two in number:

1)      Sir Abdur Rashid

2)      Muhammad Munir

3)      Muhammad Shahabuddin

4)      A. R. Cornelius

5)      Dr. S. A. Rahman

6)      Fazal Akbar

7)      Hamoodur Rahman

8)      Muhammad Yaqub Ali

9)      Shaikh Anwarul Haq

10)   Muhammad Haleem

11)   Muhammad Afzal Zullah

12)   Dr. Nasim Hasan Shah

13)   Sajjad Ali Shah

14)   Ajmal Mian

15)   Saeed -uz- Zaman Siddiqui

16)   Irshad Hasan Khan

17)   Bashir Jehangiri

18)   Sheikh Riaz Ahmad

19)   Nazim Hussain Siddique

20)  Abdul Hameed Dogar


Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry