The Chief Ministers Of Punjab

The Chief Ministers Of Punjab

Mian Shahbaz Sharif the only three time CM Punjab

Punjab is the biggest province of Pakistan with approximately more than half percent of the country’s population. Lahore is the heart of Punjab and has been honored to be the capital of the province for centuries. Before the city witnessed rule of various kings within it and now it sees the services of Chief Ministers. A Chief Minister usually refers to the elected head of government of a state.  The Provincial Assembly of the Punjab elects the Chief Minister (CM) for serving as the head of the Provincial government in the province.

At present, Shahbaz Sharif is serving as CM Punjab. As the head of the province he took his responsibilities as being restored after Governor’s rule (from February 25, 2009 to March 30, 2009). Punjab Assembly elected him before as the CM Punjab however soon he had to quit according to the court judgments. Its now 3rd time, Shahbaz Shairf has become the Chief Minister of Punjab and known as Khadim-e-Aala.

Let’s find out the list of the Chief Ministers who ruled over the province since 1947 to present.

  • Iftikhar Hussain Khan Mamdoot was the first CM Punjab after independence. He served as the head of the province from 15th August 1947 to 25th January 1949.
  • Mian Mumtaz Daultana was the second CM Punjab (1951-1953). He was recognized as a renowned activist of “Teherek-e-Azadi” as well as one of the closest friends of Mohammad Ali Jinnah.
  • Malik Sir Feroz Khan Noon is known as third CM Punjab from 1953 to 1955.
  • Abdul Hamid Khan Dasti (21 May 1955 to 13th October 1955).
  • Malik Meraj Khalid (29th April 1972 to 12th November 1973.
  • Malik Ghulam Mustafa Khar (12th November 1973 to 15th March 1974).
  • Muhammad Hanif Ramay Muhammad Hanif Ramay was the seventh CM Punjab from 15th March 1974 to 11th July 1975.
  • Nawab Sadiq Hussain Qureshi (1975-1977).
  • The current Prime Minister of Pakistan Mian Muhammad Nawaz Sharif is a famous Pakistani politician and businessman had also served as the CM Punjab from 9th April 1985 to 13th August 1990.
  • Ghulam Haider Wyne (1990 to 1993)
  • Mian Manzoor Ahmad Wattoo  (25th April 1993 to 19th July 1993)
  • Manzoor Elahi  caretaker CM (19th July 1993 to 20th October 1993)
  • Mian Muhammad Afzal Hayat  (1996 to 1997)
  • Muhammad Shahbaz Sharif (1997-1999)
  • Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi (2002-2007)
  • Shiekh Ejaz Nisar as caretaker CM Punjab (19th November 2007-11th April 2008)
  • Dost Muhammad Khosa (12th April 2008-8th June 2008)
  • Muhammad Shahbaz Sharif ( (2008-2013)
  • Najam Sethi as caretaker CM Punjab (27th March 2012-5th June 2013)
  • Muhammad Shahbaz Sharif (6th June 2013-Present)
Author MairaS:
Webpreneur. CEO ContentCreatorZ Pakistan. Managing Partner Media Marketing Services.
None found.

Share Your Thoughts

You might also likeclose